Posted in blog posts

PCOS and Pregnancy

No matter what’s going on around you, pause and appreciate the beauty that surrounds you. Jessica Grundy

If you’ve followed my blog, you know I have PCOS. Then you also know I’ve been told over and over getting pregnant most likely wouldn’t happen for me. It broke my heart each time I heard it because I always wanted to have four or five kids. And yes, adoption has always been an option, but it’s expensive and a hard process from what I’ve heard.

But I don’t have to worry about that at this moment since I’m pregnant 🤰🏽🙌🏽

I’ve had many women reach out to me and ask me what my trick was getting pregnant, or what I did to get pregnant. I figured I’d just address it in a post because it would be easier to reach everyone! So if you’re interested, keep reading. If not, see yah later 😉

I tried and tried for years to get pregnant; got off birth control, didn’t use any sort of protection, and did our business.😏 Time after time, nothing happened. I was tracking my periods and ovulation through a period app. I had tried talking to multiple doctors, all of whom had told me I wouldn’t ever be able to get pregnant unless I lost over 150 pounds. With each negative pregnancy test, I lost a little more hope that it would ever happen for me.

I had started doing a low-carb diet to lose weight, doing home workouts when I could (physical pain and lack of motivation really weighed me down in regards to working out), and becoming obsessed with hitting my step goal. I felt like I was finally on the right track! But a positive pregnancy test never came.

I had talked to many women who were in the same situation as me, both with PCOS and without. Some women had multiple kids, some were currently pregnant. Some of them were struggling to get pregnant just like me. Some of the women who were struggling to conceive went steps further and started treatments and medicine to help them conceive. After listening to how long some of them had been doing the treatments and still no pregnancy, I didn’t know if I had the strength to do that. Then came the talk of cost. Once I heard how much the treatments and medicine costs, I knew I’d never be able to afford it with my current job.

I gave up fighting so hard to keeping my hope alive. I started to force myself to stop thinking about getting pregnant. Anytime anyone mentioned it I would say “maybe it’s not meant for me” and slowly but surley, I started to believe it. Eventually, I started to get depressed and fell off my low-carb diet and attempting to do any home workouts. I didn’t give up being obsessed with hitting my step goal, though. 🤷🏽‍♀️

During this time, I had a super stressful job that I really despised going to daily. I was consumed with stress both mentally and physically. Which did make it pretty easy to not focus on trying to get pregnant if I’m being honest. My head space was dark and clouded.. until I got out of that toxic environment and started working on finding my inner peace again.

To be honest, when I found out I was pregnant, I was totally shocked. I couldn’t believe it. (I wake up to this day at 33 weeks pregnant and I still can’t believe it.)

But to answer the big questions, I didn’t do anything different to get pregnant than I had before. I could say it was because I left a toxic job and my stress levels went down. I could say it was my obsession with hitting my step goal daily. I could say it was because I stopped putting so much of my focus on trying. But none of those were it. Although all of those probably helped, they aren’t how I got pregnant.

I was able to get pregnant by the grace of God. It was my time and I was blessed. There is no other explanation for me to give. My lack of faith wasn’t in God or His timing, it was in my body. But even with everything stacked against us, my body is doing an amazing thing that nobody (but God) knew was possible.

It’s not easy to keep the positive mindset or your faith alive. That’s why you’ve gotta keep yourself surrounded by positive people. Even though I had almost fully given up, there were people close to me who prayed it would happen for me and those who knew in their hearts it would happen for me. Find you some people like that and keep them close. They are important to have when times get dark and lonely.

I can’t tell you not to give up hope because as you read, I had pretty much done that. What I can tell you is to trust in the timing. It will happen for you when the time is right — for YOU. It won’t happen on your time. It won’t happen just cause you want it to or cause you think you’re ready. It’ll happen when it’s supposed to happen. And that’s with anything, loves, not just pregnancy!!! 😘

Until next time. Be easy, stay blessed.

-Jessica💖

Leave a comment